top of page

LLL: Thrifting Chicago

I'll be honest, I'm new to the thrift scene but so excited to explore all Chicago has to offer! I have made several friends in the thrifting community here and feel like I'm learning so much about ethical and sustainable fashion. I'm finally clearing out all those pieces of my closet that I bought in high school. You know the loud prints and bright colors with a fit that makes your body contort to ways it's not used to.. I digress. It's high time I begin to invest in pieces that are high quality and classic to last the next ten years of my life (I'm being hopeful here.) I've gathered some of my favorite tips and even posted some markets I'm looking forward to this spring season!

Know what you're looking for

Investment pieces v.s. staple

Some pieces are an everyday item that integrates well into your wardrobe and there are other pieces that may be a little bit of an investment and work as a statement. Either type is equally rewarding!

Your fashion timeline

(pieces from the 1940s/60s/80s)

Sometimes style from a certain era will speak to you - I definitely have an eye for pieces from specific time eras! The more you explore you can magnify what fits in your wardrobe. In high school I practiced with Goodwill but I've learned a thing or two since! Like how do you know when you want an item because it's a good deal versus when it's actually a great addition to your closet?

Your limits

Will you tailor items or wear the vintage statement necklace? (um, guilty, I still haven’t worn it – almost a YEAR later.) Sometimes we fall in love with something because it's unique but not necessarily because it's a great addition to our current closet. As a "former" shop-a-holic (maybe recovering is a better term, ha!) I've had to learn what I'm falling for because of the statement it makes compared to being confident that it is something I will repeatedly use.

Know when to walk away

(I normally stretch this muscle when I see something and respond with the thought, “I HAVE to have it!” I continue to browse and by the end if I’m still thinking about the item I’ll go back to see if it's still there. What’s the history? Is the seller asking a fair price?)

Are you talking yourself into the item or can you already envision incorporating it into your daily wardrobe? If I’m working too hard on picturing the outfit or it’s in a scenario (like being on a yacht for a bridal shower – dream on.) then maybe it’s something that won’t be practical to own at this time!

Be willing to dig for treasure.

Often times the most valuable treasures are stored out of eyesight – up high, in a case, or sometimes in plain sight where others skip over it. Case and point: This Italian bag on the left was sitting on a foldout table in a forgotten corner of the Randolph St Market. It was so simple and elegant but people had skipped over the whisper of elegance. Scroll down for the story of the pieces on left, too!

$ave Your Best & Invest

Bring cash Most vendors have cashless systems and there are usually atms on site but some vendors barter with cash more than they do card. Keep that in mind if you’re looking to purchase a big piece!

Discount (Days) I grew up shopping for new-to-me clothes at Goodwill and my mom always made sure to target the tags that were reduced prices. Keeping tabs on vendors as they post on social media about sales and *especially* hitting them up in bad weather days because statistically they’ll be thankful for your business on a slow day and willing to barter.

Look for slight imperfections that are fixable with a small investment of your time – I found these gorgeous linen pants but they had a slight discoloration and I was able to purchase the pants at a more reasonable price. Sometimes sweaters have stray threads that simply need to be rewoven and you can negotiate with “defects”. It never hurts to ask for a better price.

When negotiating know your top dollar and how to walk away. I've often found if I go a little lower than what I think I'd actually pay but it's still a fair price, the negotiation usually works out within $10 of the amount I'd actually like to spend.

Scout vendors on event sites

Sometimes thrift/craft shows can be overwhelming and I try to prep beforehand so I can get a feel of vendors that I like and what to look for. Often it's easy to be swept up in the crowd so you're likely to not see vendors that fit in your style. I haven't been to many craft shows that provide a layout of where the vendors are so knowing who you're already looking for and then looping back to linger or explore at other vendors may be the best use of your time.

Get to know the seller!

Not only will you learn about the history of the pieces you’re interested in but by investing in someone and their passion you get to fuel ethical fashion and small businesses! Here are some upcoming events to follow and two new stores I've stumbled upon! I linked all the sites and included neighborhoods/times so you can plan a whole weekend of thrifting adventures in Chicago if you'd like!

@Merchandise Mart

(Spring & Holiday Show)

@Artifact Events

(Spring & Holiday Show)

Vintage Modern Fashion

@China Town

Bazaar Event Ma 1- June 2

@Bucktown

*NEW* (Permanent Store Front)

@West Town

West Loop

End of Each Month

Check last year's post where I had just started diving into Chicago's Thrift Scene for a few more finds!

CHEERS from C H I C A G O,

ashley brianna

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page