top of page

New Year, New Me-ow...? | Chicago Pet Rescue

Each new year brings stronger goals and new hopes in finding success and happiness. This past year brought lots of change for me: a new career, love and loss, and pursuing an ever-evolving dream. Each faithful step revealed priorities that aligned to the dream and those that didn’t. One of the things 2018 taught me was if you are fixed on a dream; hold out for the best version of it. Don’t partner up with the next best thing! Honestly the last half of 2018 packed many surprises and I’ve been waiting a little while to share with you a crazy story..

Everyone seeks community and companionship in various ways. Have you ever found yourself staying out too late because you felt like you hadn’t seen your friends in forever? I was doing it all the time and by the end was so exhausted that I lacked the energy to pursue the dream I really loved! I often came home to crash instead of spending time reflecting, writing, or resting. I had a hard time sitting still by myself and I liked living on the go. Something was missing, though. The years of solo living in the city found me wanting the sight of a friendly face when I returned home. And that’s when I started thinking – maybe having something to come home to would be nice. I’d thought about adopting a pet for years but could it be time? I mean, we've all had moments of wishing we were coming home to snuggle a little furball, right?

The process of adopting a pet for me was a good one, but a long one. On especially hard days I downloaded the Paws app and flipped through adoptable pets like Tinder. I wasn’t swooning over every single one - but close to it😂 Once I was open to adopting a pet, I began to weigh my level of commitment to the idea. What would my schedule allow? With attending multiple events every week and volunteering the majority of my free time at various nonprofits throughout the city, I knew my hope of adopting a dog was not feasible. My lifestyle didn’t fit owning a dog and having little free time for walks outside of my studio apartment made the next best idea adopting a cat. It seemed like an unlikely pairing since we rescued a cat growing up and we never really connected. I just supposed I didn't like cats and returned back to the drawing board.

Late August I’m scrolling Facebook to read a desperate plea from a friend’s coworker who needs to find a loving home for his alpha cat. I swear I have never fallen in love so fast: I saw the picture and knew this was my cat! I messaged as fast as possible but months passed. Nothing. “He must have already been adopted.” I say to myself. I’m bummed. I try to think about adopting another cat but for some reason this little guy is stuck with me. I don’t want to adopt if it’s not this cat. It felt silly to be so down about a cat I’d never met but I couldn’t shake the feeling! I thought this was my cat? Mid October comes and I get a message from his owner: he never saw my message and the kitty still needs a home! Would I like to come over and meet him? He sends me a few pictures of the little guy. I’m over the moon. I must have sent 10 friends the announcement in all caps: “HES STILL AVAILABLE FOR ADOPTION!!”

Honestly, I had to know this was really what I wanted. Once I met Freddie and his owner, conflicting schedules and the hectic rhythm of life derailed the adoption process a little. I began to doubt - is this a sign I'm not ready for such a long-term commitment? Should I back out? But a little voice inside me nudged me on and I kept trying. Once Freddie moved in, I knew we'd be a great fit. Don't let that fool you, I was so nervous! I am a care-taker by nature but I'd never owned a pet on my own. I had a lot of questions so I asked all my experienced cat-owner friends, compiled lots of online research, and kept his previous owner on speed dial just in case anything came up. I certainly do not have all the answers, but do you know who made me feel better? Christine from Rescue in Style! You should check her out, she's doing amazing things in the pet community and constantly expanding her reach to make a difference.

Freddie and I are pretty settled into our routine now. He loves the cat tree I found for him on Wayfair and I'm currently in the process of ordering cat nip spray to put on his things and some deterrent spray so he doesn't scratch on my furniture. Just last night I was writing this and he was curled up next to me on my bed and I thought, "This is perfect." So yeah, you could say having a new companion in 2019 has been pretty great!

I’m linking all my favorite cat non profits local to Chicago in case this has inspired you to adopt, donate, foster, or volunteer in any way!

MCP comes highly recommended from my friends passionate for animal rescue. Plus, you can't go wrong with the pictures!

If you're looking for a fun place to play with cats and donate to finding rescues a forever home, The Catcade is your ticket!

Paws used to have a swipable app (I'm sad they don't have it anymore!) But you can always visit their multiple Chicago locations! Click here to check them out.

Harmony House presents many ways to give back if you can't adopt but watch out for some cute faces that may persuade you otherwise!

Feline Friends doesn't have an onsite location but offers individual counseling and individual support if you're looking to adopt!

CHEERS from C H I C A G O,

ashley brianna

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page