top of page

Hu$tle for the Homeless

I was late for work. I sprinted up there EL steps and reached for the redline door as it closed. I shifted anxiously on the platform, annoyed that I didn’t get on the train because my bus had waited at a yellow light instead of gunning through it. Ah, the inconvenience. The next train that arrived at the station looked crammed full of people. I rolled my eyes as I entered the train car only to see that so many of the seats were open… Yet everyone was standing. My gaze lingered at the seats to discover two men sleeping long ways across the benches. I watched others' expressions to form my own. Some were annoyed, others ignored it as if to say, “I’m not surprised.“ I was conflicted. I didn’t know how to feel because when I thought about it, what had I done to help the homeless? I usually ignored the man on the street corner asking for money as I waited to get on the bus. But in this moment, I was conflicted. Finding myself slightly uncomfortable on the train I couldn’t let go of the thought that these men paid $3.50 to sleep for maybe an hour, surrounded by strangers. They chose this simply because it was warmer than the alternative.

The thought continued to ring, “what am I doing to alleviate this?”

This winter has been nothing short of frigid and yet we still see people out on the streets. Recently, I had a photoshoot near UIC. My Uber passed a fence along the interstate with blankets around it. At least twenty tents could be seen, the tips of the tents peaking over the fence. It seemed out of place but so unobtrusive at the same time. The neighborhood around it was quiet. Certainly a much different attitude compared to how people react when they see a few tents nestled under an overpass or a few men sleeping on the train. Eyes cast down, shuffling quickly, pretending to not notice but “sneakily” staring out of their peripheral. The homeless are people with a story but few stop to listen. We are all guilty of assuming the worst, I know I am. But who is fighting for their rights?

Thankfully, there is someone who sees past the exterior and "uses community organizing, advocacy and legal aid to press for measures that help homeless people get back on their feet." They understand, "Homelessness is caused by many factors that include less affordable housing, too few living wage jobs, and too few resources for those trying to restore their lives after incarceration or unemployment."

The Chicago Coalition for the Homeless has been operating since 1980. They are passionate in their pursuit of justice and advocate for public policy. Their efforts to protect rights of those who are without homes have not gone unnoticed. As tangible hands and feet for the cause they have not only shown up to support the community during periodic street clean up but also reported about it and the like in their blog.

CCH recently launched a project, “Bring Chicago Home” and the numbers they present are astounding. With dozens of non profits joining them in the fight, they are seeking to aid the 80k+ that are homeless in the city of Chicago. This cause truly takes all of us to vote and bring legislation into reality in order to provide assistance for homeless children, homeless veterans, and homeless women recovering from domestic violence. Click here to research it further!

You're probably excitedly reading and trying to pinpoint a more immediate action you can take in order to bring some tangible change to an issue human kind has been plagued with for what seems like the beginning of time. This month I am running the Shamrock Shuffle in an effort to raise awareness and funds for this crucial cause. It's time I take a more active role in bringing change and you can join me! FROM YOUR COMFY COUCH! I've set up a fundraising page for you to run with me in the fight and you can find it here: Shamrock Shuffle For The Homeless

If this rings true to you, will you share this story and ask your friends to donate to this cause? Sharing a link is free and brings more awareness not only to the cause, but opportunity to band together and make a difference! So share with your book club, coworkers, weekend brunch group. Consider donating a $tarbucks order or pledging a final amount with a group of friends! When we all work together we make a bigger impact!

CHEERS from C H I C A G O,

ashley brianna

All images courtesy of Jenni from Corner Light Photography

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page