top of page

Taking a Bite out of Taste of Chicago


The first time I visited Taste of Chicago, I was overwhelmed by the crowds, the food trucks' smoke in the air, and the insane heat index. There are many ways to experience Taste of Chicago, and I have a few tips that may make it a little easier.

Taste of Chicago was originally a one-day foodie festival that has now expanded to multiple days with 73 different food vendors. With musical entertainment and various beer and wine gardens throughout the "festival", you have the carnival-like atmosphere to encourage nostalgia and achieve the summertime Chi-high we all love so much.

Esperanza's Elotes

There are multiple ways to navigate the food scene. Here's how I did it. Download the app.

I downloaded the app so I could see all the vendors, mark which items I wanted to try on the "My Menu" category, and get any updates regarding weather, music, or fun surprises the Taste had up their sleeve!

Taste of: Eli's plain cheesecake

Your best bet to beat the crowds is to go midweek when everyone else is slaving away at their 9-5. But don't think you will avoid crowds because that just simply won't happen. Did you know Taste of Chicago used to originally meet on the weekend of 4th of July? The crowds became so unmanageable they had to change the dates. I went Friday around 1 and late Saturday afternoon and noticed very little crowd fluctuation.

However, scoping the scene the day before and returning the next day definitely helped me take advantage of all Taste of Chicago had to offer! I tend to be the type that's driven by a mission so these festivals can be difficult for me to navigate unless one of my chill friends accompanies me and mellows me out. There are tons of different signs and maps helping you navigate the festival but with the large crowds lingering, it's almost easier to make a few loops and remember where everything is.

Porkchop BBQ

I saved the best tips for last: how to enjoy the fair with your budget and health in mind.

Tickets

There are a lot of ticket booths placed throughout the various entrances. I specifically went through an entrance that wasn't showy or close to public transit and found a ticket booth without any lines. (At lunch time!) Some booths are cash only, so watch out. (Although there are many ATM's nearby, don't fear.)

There are signs along side the ticket booths that show you how much tickets are required for different experiences. I decided to go the route of taste/sample portions that way I didn't fill up so quick. I also split my 20 tickets between two days, making a meal for both days. Curious what I enjoyed? Check it out on my Instastory!

Health

Water cost $5 at the stands of Taste, or 7 tickets (but $5 is cheaper.) I did find a water bubbler on the North side of the Buckingham fountain. And, if you walk just outside of Taste of Chicago, towards South Michigan, there are many people selling ice cold water FOR A DOLLAR. A dollar, people. So, next time you need a sip of that precious gold (which it will feel like that if you go on a 90 degree day) grab a cold drink and drain that bottle before you return to the delicious fun inside.

Comfy shoes and sunscreen should be your best buds, friends! I saw too many ladies walking barefoot with heels in hand. Honey, you can be cute, budget friendly, and comfy! These shoes have been on repeat for me, and I found them in the oddest place, for under $10! They're breathable for summer, with thick soles to keep your feet from feeling the hot pavement, and look pretty close to Keds.

What did you enjoy most about the Taste of Chicago? Any tips to share? I'd love to hear them!

CHEERS from C H I C A G O,

ashley brianna

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page