top of page

EXPLORE CHINA TOWN

Last year I saw Chicago's China Town for the first time. I was on mile 20 of the Chicago Marathon and about 2 miles away from the emotional breakdown many runners experience on their first marathon. So, months later when friends suggested we go hang out in China Town for some late night fun, I wasn't so sure I was up for it. But since then, I have been back at least 4 times to uncover new experiences every time and I don't know why more people aren't talking about this gem of a neighborhood in Chicago!

China Town is very accessible via the El (red and green line.) or Chicago's water taxi if you're downtown. There's not just a great skyline views, like at Ping Tom Memorial Park, there is also great entertainment and food!

I always start my trip to China Town with some milk tea. My friend, Angie, insisted I add some to meal we ordered in forever ago and I really wonder how I went so long without giving it a try?! I love visiting Kung Fu Tea in the plaza. Located on the second floor, they have fun seating and an assortment of board games for guests. It's a great spot to keep in mind in case you need to wait out the rain! They just added a rosehip flavor to their Boba teas and it's my favorite!

If you're hungry and looking for an experience, there are a few I've tried and would definitely recommend! Daebok Korean BBQ really blew me away. This restaurant had selection, flavorful food, and might be one of the best places to take a large group looking for a cozy, culinary China Town trip.

Speaking of cozy, the perfect rainy day treat would have to be Qing Xiang Yuan's dumplings. With a modern diner feel, the environment is the perfect getaway if you need a quiet meal to yourself or a heart-to-heart meal with a friend. This place is pretty special. Sipping on jasmine tea with my girlfriends and devouring the dumplings (we tried chicken, pork, lamp, and beef,) it brought a sense of home even though I'd never been before. The fried dumplings were my favorite but steamed was yummy, too!

If you're looking for something that has a little more range, Joy Yee just might be your ticket. I've never been disappointed by what I've ordered from them!

As always, I couldn't go to China Town without scoping some sweet treats. I tried Legend Tasty House and need to go back to try more of the creative flavors! I've seen other places do it and I'm convinced no one does it like Legend.

If you're keeping the party going and want a great place to end then night, may I suggest Pop KTV Karaoke bar? (BONUS: No.18 actually allows people under 21 to hang out in the karaoke rooms, too! Always a perk if you have someone a little younger in your group.) I really liked having the private room because I tend to be a little shy doing karaoke at first. This was a lot of fun with different friend groups who are just getting to know each other! Either places are reasonably priced by the hour and have a stafed server for your room should you need drinks or food.

Do you have a favorite spot in China Town? I'd love to hear! Tell me here!

CHEERS from C H I C A G O,

ashley brianna

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page