top of page

CHICAGO | Thriving V.S. Surviving

Is it hard for you to shake when you see it?

The cardboard box with newspaper stuffed in the corners of a forsaken alleyway; the endless amount of people on street corners asking for a little help. Every day I bike down Clark St. and see the throngs of men and women waking up from their bed at the bus stop or in front of shop doors. I think, “There must be more that I can do than just shaking my head and saying, “That’s too bad. Someone should do something.” Chicago has soup kitchens and homeless shelters but the ratio of people to resources is astonishing! All Chicago is doing some amazing research and informing others – they have a great break down of numbers in Chicago and I’ve linked it, here.

Have we become numb to the thought of others suffering? In the dead of winter without a home? Roaming the streets consumed in hunger? Hiding from someone who is supposed to love them but continues to take advantage of them?

Real talk for a sec, Chicago was not the first place where I saw real destitution. I lived in South Africa and worked (for lack of a better term) in refugee camps. People came from all different countries to find jobs in a country that compared to theirs, was more economically stable. There was no indoor plumbing or heating – the walls of these shacks were usually made of tin or sometimes tarps. Exchanging life with people who lived so differently than you – every day? It was hard. But it was worth it.

We can do something to make a change – why not start in our own neighborhood?

With so many resources and needs, I was delighted to meet Deborah’s Place in February. I met their Junior Board President, Cate, and we immediately clicked. I learned Deborah’s Place has been running for 50 years and operates as supportive housing for women who have been victims of abuse or fallen prey to homelessness. Hearing about their organization, I was intrigued because I hadn’t seen many take the approach they do. Passing homeless people is a daily occurrence for most Chicagoans. You feel conflicted because you want to help, but you often reflect on what is the best use of your time and money. That inner conflict has fueled my passion for informing myself and partnering with a sound organization.

I believe this is the first step to making a difference in a daily tragedy.

After listening to the hearts of the women leading behind the scenes, the shared vision of Deborah's Place became clear: this was so much more than supportive housing. This was a community.

“It’s not a set period; it’s a process we walk through with them. Deborah’s Place is more than a shelter. We have seen so many alumni come back and visit.”

With over 300 women at their South Loop and Lincoln Park subsidized housing campuses, I picked a Saturday and served lunch with one of the junior board members.

The ladies chatted with us as we heated the food and set out plates and cups. I wasn’t sure what I expected but I was surprised to see so many different age ranges and backgrounds fill the cafeteria. Some ladies cheerfully chatted with us and many shuffled past, silently eyeing the food and then settling into an empty table. It was a different side of Chicago I was seeing, and it made me a little uncomfortable.

I realized I didn’t know how to love these women.

I didn’t know how I could help them.

Then I realized Deborah’s Place was already doing that.

Over the past year, they have made tremendous accomplishments. Deborah's Place facilitated 93,000 individual services to over 360 women as they made progress on their goals of achieving greater stability, sufficiency, and independence. In addition, 30 women transitioned from the collective housing to individual apartments and 8 more just graduated to their new apartments. I could join their vision with a smile and helpful heart and by sharing my joy of giving back with others; we can make a difference together. Deborah’s Place has many opportunities to join alongside, one of them being their or Under One Roof Event taking place on October 19th.

You can make a difference in many ways for the women of Deborah’s Place. Making a monetary donation, donating items for their In-Kind Wishlist, putting together an individual or community fundraiser, volunteering at for their various group sites, or attending one of their fabulous events like Under One Roof. This Fall their event is homecoming-themed with drinks and appetizers included in your ticket! It's a great fundraising event that you and your friends will have a blast at.

To set up a day to give back for yourself or a group, click this link to send a direct email.

You can contact Catie Collins for more information about the Junior Board.

If you're curious about some of the stories at Deborah's Place, here is one especially near to my heart.

CHEERS from C H I C A G O,

ashley brianna

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page