top of page

Stay Cool, Chicago | The Best Ice Cream Shops in Town

Growing up in Wisconsin, ice cream was a rich experience that's rooted in many of my childhood memories! While Illinois is close in proximity, not all of Chicago's ice cream shops do the treat true justice. I've rounded up some of my local favorites just for you!

Most Chicago locals steer you towards Jeni’s, which is a fantastic wholesome experience! With several locations in the Chicago area, you should plan on partaking very soon. It was founded in Columbus, Ohio with the purpose of removing harmful and unnecessary additives to the product. This produces a more natural ice cream without sacrificing any of that taste. The lines are normally long but the treat is well worth the wait!

Tempesta Market is one of my recent discoveries and I may have a hard time not visiting less than once a week. After living abroad for a few years and dining on gelato weekly, I was so sad to see Chicago had very few options! All that to say, this father/son deli may have the best, freshest gelato I’ve ever had. Their sandwiches and café are a great little space to get some work done, too!

When I first moved to the city, one of my ice cream haven’s was Lickity Split. Their retro vibe, frozen custard, and ability to deliver ice cream at a caliber that’s little over the top, makes it a great place to capture some memories this summer.

Margie’s Candies is an ice cream parlor that has a delicious backstory and even more scrumptious ice cream. They never fail to lift my spirits with one of the best chocolate shakes in town. The best part is you can order some from Postmates if you’re craving a real treat and don’t want to step into the heat.

My favorite neighborhood spot I often hide out at is Windy City Sweets. It’s a retro candy store with ice cream that reminds me of my hometown in Wisconsin. And they’re open a little later than most so make it a little late night stop after your next night out!

Last but not least, Nini's Deli has a few cool treats and is a great local mom and pop. You may know them from their pink wall and colorful drinks that are beginning to make their way across Instagram. This place is always frequented by locals and everyone is on a first name basis. Be sure to stop by for a delicious treat and get to know the great family that owns the deli! I’d definitely recommend the empanadas and any of their frozen treats. Enjoy!!

CHEERS from C H I C A G O,

ashley brianna

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page