top of page

When to Leave TOXIC Work Environments

Have you ever felt like you were the only one unhappy at your job? In a time of instant gratification we are often feeling the itch to pursue something greater than where we are currently. We compare other’s highlight reels to our own unfiltered reality and begin to foster hostility towards the good things we have in life. We all know every job comes with pros and cons. So how do you navigate weighing how you feel and what you see?

I found myself in this space last October. I had just finished a marathon and lost my best coworker to a better opportunity. I did not want to keep teaching but was unsure what the next steps looked like. I was passionate to start this blog and confident it would help me find the creative release I was longing for. As I refocused onto something I was passionate and excited about I began to realize my time teaching really was coming to an end.

I began to really lean on my community in this time. I spent most weekends reflecting. The reflection quickly turned into resting due to my level of burnout in my current career. It was not about how hard the job was at the time, it was my priority shift from a needed income to a passion pursuit. This brings me to my first point regarding toxic workspaces.

What’s the first step in discovering the atmosphere you work in may not be healthy?

Acknowledge your priorities

Often when we feel dissatisfied we can project our feelings of frustration onto those who lead us in the work force. Whether it’s because things aren’t moving fast enough or the long commute is really getting to you, placing your dissatisfaction solely on your employers is not how things get better.

Are you prioritizing mental/physical/emotional health? Are you respecting the work/personal life balance? When I didn’t take the time to burn off frustration through exercise or surround myself with friends after a tough day, I found my hostility at an all-time high. This clouded my vision from seeing if I was embracing a toxic attitude or if my work place was unhealthy.

Assessing your priorities allows you to keep the mission in front of you. This way when you’re observing and assessing your life at work, you can see how they align with or against each other. As a teacher, there were needs I had that needed to be met by my superiors. I’ve broken them down in hopes it's applicable to more than just me.

Is your job supporting you in growth opportunities?

Do you feel a part of the team at work?

Do you feel like you’re making a difference at work?

Is it meaningful or mundane to you?

After asking for specific support did you see action or feel listened to?

Not everyone gets great support where they work. One of the biggest pieces of advice I received before entering the full-time work force was, "Don't just bring problems, offer solutions." Some managers prefer you to bring solutions to problems. And some places don't listen to you even when you do.

People need grace - where do you draw the line and say, "Enough is enough. We're better than this."

If the answer to the above questions were "no" it may be time for some soul searching.

I found myself with a fresh blog, passionate for the first time in a while, and realized I'm in an unhealthy work environment while my career is going nowhere. One of the toughest decisions in my life was just to start looking elsewhere. And it's crazy but so many people sent me job leads who had no idea I was looking. None of those offers panned out but it gave me enough courage to keep looking and holding out for what was the best fit.

Follow the leads and take your time.

I knew my time teaching was coming to an end so I began using my vacation time to find the solace I needed to plan next steps. One of those was visiting my best friend who lives 18 hours away. After spending time with her family, I flew back to Chicago and had never dreaded going back to work so much in my life. There were parts I loved but the parts I did not enjoy were growing. I did not feel valued (not that it is a need but I would like to work for people who see me as a part of their team not just a number.) And even when I was being proactive in communicating it felt like I was talking to a brick wall. Believe it or not, a few weeks later I had a job lined up with people who valued me, were excited for me to join their team, and offered support without having to beg.

Finish Well

Some places of employment treat their staff poorly when they learn they are moving on. I've seen it many times and it's honestly disappointing. I have also seen staff act very immaturely because they have somewhere else that will employ them and they no longer need the current company. While you may not be in agreement with their practices or their management style, is it right for treating someone poorly because they have treated you poorly? We're outgrowing that (slowly but surely) as a nation and I hope we can raise our standards of character so that when people speak about you it will be in high regard.

I hope to hear from if you're navigating this experience currently or have in the past. What were the ways you weighed your options and how did you move on? Was it a quick process? Was it slow? How did you stay positive through it all?

CHEERS from C H I C A G O,

ashley brianna

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page