top of page

Chicago Creative's Favorite Spots to Get $**+ Done

As a creative, I am constantly looking for inspiring and relaxing places to disconnect from the world and make something (while staying time efficient and focused.) Sometimes it’s a blog, sometimes it’s editing my own photography, or in a more recent case, launching a really special website. (Welcome!!)

I have several favorite neighborhoods in the city and am constantly on the lookout for new digs (so give me a holler if you find something!) Here’s a little list to get you through the freezing next few months ;)

West Loop The Allis:

Just. Go. I discovered this when work sent me to host a crafting party for kids. Best advice: beat the brunch crowd and show up around 10 for a quiet Saturday with a delicious cup of coffee. I would be remiss to not share: their croissants are On. Point. The staff is lovely and it's a very family friendly environment but chill enough to find a cozy corner and slip away from the world.

Wicker Park The Den's Haven Lounge

A theater lounge turned coffee shop?! It was renovated from (get this) an old bowling alley and the classic floors show it. But the rich wood and moody grandfather vibes fit perfectly with their Dark Matter brews and delicious food from Goddess and the Grocer. I can never get enough of the huge windows and sitting in the sunlight that pours through them.

Also

Dove’s Luncheonette The vibes! I have such a crush on this place. Their Hoosier Your Mama pie was what brought me in but the attentive service and 70's charm keeps it in my dreams. PLUS. They play records on their record player behind the wall: wired to speakers throughout the place! Drooling.

South Loop

Harold Washington Library (9th floor Winter Garden):

I'm forever looking for places I can take a break from the hustle and bustle of the city and find a moment to breathe. You'll be happy to feel like you're outside as the light shines on you from the massive skylight. (But not freezing your tail off in the dead of winter.) The space is so large and airy - I felt like a royal walking in at first. You can bring books from the previous 8 floors to browse, work on that project with a looming deadline, or write away (as I do) in the uninterrupted bliss of a quiet library. May I add, without feeling the dusty and dark vibe that normally lives in a library - which I love at times, don't get me wrong.

Thanks for stopping by and hope we can have an adventure together soon!

CHEERS from C H I C A G O,

ashley brianna

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page